Bugs

Remember Costa Rica is a rain forest.  Which means we have lots of bugs.  Everything I have ever read always tells you to get a bug repellent that has DEET in it.  Well, you don’t have to.  I just stocked up on my trip to the States with Avon’s Skin-So-Soft Bug Guard. It is DEET free, plus it has a sunscreen in it.  Don’t get the aerosol can, get the pump and don’t put it together until after you arrive, this will help to prevent it leaking in your suitcase.  I am not saying this to promote anyone.  I am saying this because this stuff actually works.  It also keeps ants off your feet.  And let me tell you these ants pack a big bite.  Even the small ones. 

Also, depending on the area you that you are travelling to, you may run into the cleaner ants.  I was freaking out the first time I seen these things.  They come in a swarm!  They will come into your house and basically clean it.  If there are any dead bugs around in the corner that you cannot see, or in the light fixtures, they will get them.  They come in, clean your house and leave.  Last time I had them come through in my last house they were there for about 2 hours and then just left.  If you don’t bother them, they won’t bother you.  Just let them do their thing and they will leave.  It’s really kind of neat.  They will clean up any crumbs on the floor that you cannot see.  Even if you clean your house everyday, they will come.  It is impossible to have it spotless, they will find something.  I have actually learned to appreciate them.  For one, cockroaches don’t like ants.  Ants eat them, so now the ants are my friends. 

One response

Leave a Reply

