Utilities

Thought you might like to know the average cost of my utilities.  Keep in mind that it is only my husband and I in our household.  But we also run a fan pretty much all day and one at night.  We do not have air conditioning.  We also have a very small fridge and our stove is gas.  But I do use the slow cooker a lot.  I do a load of laundry about every other day, just to keep up on it.

The cost on my electric bill is right around $20 a month, I do know people who have a higher one, they live in the larger cities and have bigger houses and kids.  My water bill is around $7 a month.  There are some places where it is just a flat rate per month no matter how much or how little you use.  Mine is metered.  I do have high-speed internet, it is DSL but very good and a home phone.  Those two together cost me about $35 a month.  There are times I do think I want A/C but I really don’t think I would use it that often.  Plus, it is different from in the States, there is no duct work in the house.  So all of the air comes out of one place.  But with the size of my house that wouldn’t be too bad.  My house is only 613 sq ft.  Feels much bigger though.  Ninety percent of the electricity produced here is hydro, so this really keeps the cost down.  We don’t have a TV, but you can still get analog signals here.  You can also get satellite as well.  The satellite is about the same cost as it is in the States, maybe a little cheaper, but not much.  If you want to pick up channels in English you will have to get satellite.  So, let me know what you think.

3 responses

  1. Funny how electric is so much cheaper due to the way it is generated but satellite and phone are closer to what we pay in the states. I pay on average $225 a month for electric/gas from Duke Energy for a 900 square foot home with 4 people and well water.

  2. I remember the last time we lived in the States we had a 1200 sq ft apartment. We paid on average around $150 a month for utilities. Our cable, phone and internet were around $150 also. Plus, we had cell phones, which was around $100 a month. Here I use a prepaide phone and I have had $5 on it for the past two months. I hardly ever use it.

Leave a Reply

