Appendicitis in Paradise

hospital view

Well, here you go.  This is me.  I will start off on telling you why I have a shaved head.  My best friend in the States is going through chemotherapy and has lost all of her hair.  So, I did it in support of her.

It started on Saturday the 26th, the day after my husbands birthday.  I had a little pain that just felt like gas; didn’t think much of it until I got up Sunday morning and the pain had moved and gotten a lot worse.  I tried to wait it out until Monday morning to see my doctor.  That didn’t happen.  I ended up in an ambulance at 4am.  They took me to the emergency clinic and then immediately to the hospital.  I got to the hospital at 6:30am, it’s a long way.  They did blood work and an urinalysis.  Everything came back fine.  So, I waited and they did an x-ray that afternoon.  The x-ray was fine.  Finally, about 10pm, they did an ultrasound.  Five minutes after having the ultrasound done they were prepping me for surgery.  I don’t blame them at all for taking so long to figure out that it actually was an appendicitis; after all the previous tests were fine.  Only problem was that it ended up rupturing.  So, I ended up spending a total of 6 days in the hospital.

Believe it or not, I actually had an enjoyable stay in the hospital.  There some very good things and some not so great ones.  If you have to have an extended stay here in the hospital, I hope you like white rice because you will be eating a lot of it.  The only problems I really had the whole time was an allergic reaction to a pain medication, which I didn’t even know I was allergic to, not their fault.  Also, they served fish one night and I know I told them I was allergic to fish, so some one just didn’t get the memo in the kitchen.  I ended up losing about 3 pounds just due to the fact that I couldn’t eat that much rice!

The good things.  The amazing view I had from my hospital bed, you couldn’t get that view from a five star hotel!  At night it was just amazing.  The nurses were wonderful!  The doctors too.  The nurses do not have CNAs that work for them so they do everything themselves.  They were always smiling and laughing.  I was in a room with five other women and we had a great time and my Spanish improved a lot in these past six days.  The doctors would visit several times a day and were always willing to help you out and answer any questions, they were even smiling all the time.  I feel really bad for the nurses here.  They work so hard and actually do a lot more work than the nurses in the States.  And before anyone would like to correct me on that, I have worked as a CNA and an MA, so I know.  They are on salary here and make about $800 per month!  I know the cost of living here is lower, but when you are in the bigger cities, it is not much lower.

I pay just under $40 a month for my health insurance here and that is full coverage.  There are no co-pays or deductibles.  So, the whole time I was in the hospital, all the test, my medicine, the surgery, everything was covered.  I do NOT have to pay anything out of pocket!  To me that is amazing.

One response

Leave a Reply

