Recovery

Let me tell you.  I have the most amazing husband in the world and the most amazing neighbors too.  I have been home now for a week today and have had many problems with the recovery from this surgery.  Last Monday I ended up in another ambulance as I woke up from my nap in a pool of drainage.  My husband helped me to the bathroom to try to get cleaned up, while sitting there I passed out on him.  I wasn’t out but for a few seconds.  I told him to go get our neighbor, she told me that her son had the same surgery done before.  She came over and was able to call an ambulance for me and they got me to the emergency clinic.  Some how or another I had a nasty infection going on.  Well, they drained out as much as they could, switched my antibiotics and home I went.  The doctor and nurse there were absolutely wonderful again.  The nurse kept me talking the whole time to keep my mind occupied.  Luckily, my Spanish has improved.  I have had the drainage happen to me a couple of more times, but it is getting less and less.  I got my stitches out last Friday, they do not use the dissolving stitches here.  I was happy to have those out.

Everyday, my neighbor, Doris, has brought me over something to eat.  Everything from soup to Jell-O.  She comes over everyday to check on me and to see how I am doing.  I have never had such good and caring neighbors.  They truly are wonderful people.  I hate being stuck at home like this, the only place I have been for the past week has been to the clinic, so I am starting to get a little stir crazy.  I can’t wait to heal so I can at least go for a walk.

My husband is truly amazing and I feel so blessed to have him.  He has done everything under the stars for me.  He has helped with washing my back, done all the laundry, cooking and cleaning.  Today he went above and beyond duty and shaved my legs for me and he didn’t even nick me!  He is an amazing man.  I don’t know where I would be without him right now.  So, it looks like I still have a long road ahead of me, the incision was close to four inches long and I am still having some pain from it.  But with the help of my hubby and everyone else, I am doing great.  I am just glad that I can still go sit outside and enjoy the breeze and fresh air.  Glad it is warm here.  In the evening I can still see the stars and enjoy it.  I refuse to let this depress me, just like with my back problems.  I would just love to take a small trip to town to get out of the house!  Hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

