It’s a rainforest!

So many people forget that Costa Rica is a rainforest.  They see all the beautiful pictures online with the beautiful beaches, and easily forget that it is an actual rainforest.  It rains, and it rains a lot at times.  Now, don’t get me wrong, Costa Rica is extremely beautiful and the people are wonderful, friendly, and outgoing.  But it does rain.  It rains more in some parts of the country than others.  We have one area of the country that has been in a severe drought and they have even had to truck in water at times.  The area I live in, I think we got all of their rain this year plus ours.  There were times that I wanted to buy a kayak just to make it across the front yard.  Any place you live is going to have its draw backs.  I have lived through blizzards and tornadoes, and let’s not forget about the ice storms.  I have been through massive heat waves and droughts.  Here, we have rain and earthquakes.  I have some friends that live out by the beach, they have had so much rain this season they were stuck in their house for over a week.  The road to where they live was a mud hole and the only way to get in and out was on horseback.  But they do have a beautiful house, they have chickens, a dairy cow, a very nice garden, and there is still always something to do.  This is a completely different lifestyle than what you are used to in the US.  It’s very laid back and easy going, unless your driving.  That is a different matter all together.  People here don’t let the rain stop them from doing what they need to do.  I still see people on motorcycles riding in the rain.  I still see people outside working in the rain, it’s a part of life here.  In order for us to have all of this natural beauty here and all of the wildlife, we have to have the rain.  Without it, this beautiful country would not be this beautiful.  I live in one of the rainiest areas of Costa Rica and love it.  Do I get tired of the rain?  Sometimes.  But then it will clear up and it won’t rain for months.  Starting in April/May is when it starts raining again.  It’s not too bad during those months, just an afternoon shower here and there and not even every day.  July can be a bear, November is usually the worst where I live.  I have gone two weeks at a time without seeing the sun.  But then one day, it just stops.

I have had people tell me, that they knew people who moved down here and then moved back to the States because they were bored.  Well, I can probably guarantee you that they wanted to live the same lifestyle that they lived in the States.  It’s a completely different country.  You have to embrace the differences here.  Learn what the locals do for fun.  Find something here that interest you.  My husband and I love sitting on our patio bird watching.  Just today, we saw at least 10 different species of beautiful birds in under and hour.  We also had an iguana in our tree, something we don’t get often at our house.  I have learned a lot about myself since moving here, like I really love baking from scratch.  I also love to cook, I never had time for doing that in the States.  My Spanish still has a long way to go, but I am trying and the locals know that I am trying and they do try to help me out and laugh with me when I can’t pronounce a word.  There is one word that I have been trying to say for about a year and still can’t say it right.  There were a few people that started to get upset with my husband because he wasn’t learning Spanish.  Once I explained to them that he is half deaf, has tried to learn, but can’t hear it well enough to learn it, they understood.  Now they are very patient with him and do there best to communicate with him in other ways.  Lots of charades.  But there is almost always something to do, if you are willing to get out there and do it.  We live in a small town, about 8,000 people.  There are tourist things to do in our area, but we are not overrun with tourism.  This helps keep the cost of living down and still give you the local, true feel of the country.  I have friends that sell Avon and my neighbor sells Tupperware.  Tupperware is a blessing down here.  It’s a happy country here, I love being here.  Just a few weeks ago we got invited to our friends daughter’s graduation from primary school.  The daughter asked us to come, loved the ceremony.  The people down here will welcome you with open arms, as long as you keep an open mind.  Just remember, it is a rainforest.

Leave a Reply

