Utilites

I have been seeing on different pages about the cost of utilities here in Costa Rica.  Some people saying it is really high and then there are people like me who say it is really cheap.  It depends on a lot of factors.

How big is your house?

How many people are in your household?

Do you have an air conditioner?

Do you have a clothes dryer?

Do you have a dishwasher?

How big are your appliances?

Do you leave everything plugged in when you are not using it?

I have a small house, around 613 sq ft.  Most of the time it is just the two of us, but we do have lots of overnight company.  In December we had a guest that was here for almost the entire month, my electric bill was only $32.  We do not have an air conditioner, we use fans.  I do have a clothes dryer that I use when I do laundry.  My dishwasher is my husband.  He’s a good man.  Most of our other appliances are small, our refrigerator would be considered small by US standards; but it would be average for a small apartment.  The only things that are left plugged in all the time are the refrigerator, obviously, and the washer and dryer.  When I am not using something, it is unplugged.  The reason for that, even though it is turned off it will still draw on the electrical current.  At night, I even unplug the internet modem.  After all, I am asleep and we are not using it.  Why let it stay on and waste electricity and run up my bill?  If I am not in a room, the light is turned off.  In the evening I will turn on one patio light, that is too keep the bugs outside and not attracted to the light inside.  We use all energy saver light bulbs.

When I was in the States, I started this experiment, by unplugging things when I wasn’t using them.  My utility bill dropped drastically.  They say, in the States, that by just leaving your cell phone charger always plugged in is costing you about $7 a month; that’s $84 a year.  Think about all the other things you leave plugged in when not using.  I even unplug my TV, I don’t DVR anything.  The game consul is unplugged when not in use also, think about all those little lights on them that are always on.  It’s little things like this that run up your bill.  This is for everywhere, not just here.  Just some helpful advice for you all to help you save some money, no matter where you are at.

Leave a Reply

