Not doing a whole lot

It has been a pretty laid back and boring sort of week.  Not a whole lot going on for us.  I am actually looking at some sunshine right now though!  We need it after all this rain we have been having.  We have had crazy amounts of rain for this time of year.

Last week our clothes dryer decided to quit working.  Not happy, especially with all the rain, I can’t even hang them out to dry.  One day my neighbor came over and asked if she could use it. That is the first time she has ever asked to use it.  I think she wants one now but they are very expensive here.  Well, the husband went out and found someone to fix it for us.  He came out to the house and spent about 4 hours trying to figure out what was wrong, went and bought the parts, and fixed it.  Total cost was under $80 for parts and labor.  I will take that.  He also gave us a three month guarantee for parts and labor.  That was on a Monday and it worked fine that day.  We use it on Friday and the clothes come out super hot.  I had a feeling something was wrong.  Saturday, it didn’t do anything.  So, I call the guy back.  He came right out and took it apart again, found out what was wrong…again.  Had to wait so he could get to the store to get another part to replace it.  He told us he would be here Monday; I called and he wasn’t able to get the part and is supposed to be here today, Wednesday.  I really hope he gets this thing fixed today so I can do laundry; it is starting to pile up.

My cleaning lady quit.  She got another job in San Jose.  I was really sad to see her leave, but very happy for her at the same time.  After all she has three kids and this new job pays her a heck of a lot more.  She is trying to save up money to buy a piece of property and build a house.  Really smart lady.  She was so good at cleaning, very nice too.  We already miss her.

We also have some people staying with us from Spain right now.  They are going to be here for two more nights.  Very nice couple and easy to get along with.  We have hosted a lot of different people from a lot of different countries here in our little home.  It is a lot of fun getting to know them.  Sometimes there is a language barrier, we had one couple stay with us that knew very little Spanish and very little English, they spoke French.  We had a guy stay with us for so long that he started paying rent!  He also started calling us mom and dad.  We enjoyed having him here a lot.  He became part of our family.

I think the only other thing that has been going on is me trying to find an air cast.  I live in a very small town and this is not something that is used often here.  I have been to every pharmacy around and have been told that I will have to go to one of the bigger cities to find it.  I have tendinitis in my ankle and it is just not healing up this time.  I had an air cast before and used it for a couple of weeks and was good after that.  So, it looks like we are going to have to make a small trip one day soon.  I miss taking my dog on long walks.  It is good for him and me.

So, that is about it for right now.  Just a normal week in my little life, in my little house, in my little country, in my little town.  Until manaña, Pura Vida!

2 responses

  1. Well..thats a lot compared to some of my weeks. Indeed a dryer is a luxury. I have clothes hang for a week,,,in rain,,,sleet (lol) and more rain,…til they dried. Dryer envy. I hope it gets going.
    Do you do airbnb? or just have a lot of interesting friends from all over.? Im nosy,,,,I know

Leave a Reply

