My town

The town I live in is a small town.  I think there is just over 8,000  people here.  I love it, but it is not for everyone.  We are not close to the beach, we do not have a lot of other gringos here.  It’s local, and we like that.

Yesterday when I got up my not-so-smart phone decided to not work.  I did the  normal things; turned it off and on, took out the battery, and so forth.  It still wasn’t working.  So, we go down to our local internet store where my computer guy is.  I show him what the phone is doing and told him what I tried.  I haven’t even had this phone for very long.  He pulls out the SD card for me so it doesn’t get erased and then does a hard reset on it.  Wipes everything clean, there was an error on the phone.  Puts it back together and said here you go.  I asked him how much and he told me nothing.  That wasn’t acceptable to me.  I gave him 1,000 colones and he was very happy with that.  Wished me a happy new year and I was on my way.

My clothes dryer quit working…again.  This time we called up a local guy, last guy was from Colombia, to come out and take a look at it.  He took the dryer completely apart, cleaned out the whole inside of it, replaced the parts with the proper ones, put it back together, and charged us 15,000.  Dryer hasn’t worked this good since we bought it.

Walking around town the other day and I decided to go into a hardware store.  My husband is looking at me wondering what I am looking for.  I really didn’t know, just wanted to look to see if they had anything new.  They did!  Finally found the perfect ceiling fan for our dinning room.  Our rooms are very small so we had to find something with small blades on it and it had to have a light.  Not the easiest thing to find where we are at.  Turns out the guy we were working with used to live in Atlanta and knew some pretty good English.  Ended up giving us a discount on the fan.

When we first moved here we didn’t have anything and got a lot of stuff given to us when we moved into a house that wasn’t furnished.  Slowly over time as we have been getting new things we have been taking everything that was given to us and giving it to someone else who may need it.  We did that again today, had a friend come over and pick up some stuff to put it to good use.

We feel that we have been very lucky and blessed to live in the community that we live in.  We have great neighbors and great friends.  It’s not perfect, but it’s perfect for us.  That is what you have to find for yourself.  What you may like, want, and need will not be the same as the next person.  Remember that when you are looking to move here, or even visiting here.  Everyone likes something different.  Until mañana, Pura Vida!

Leave a Reply

