Renewing our drivers license

Really, it was a simple and painless process.  Probably the easiest thing we have done here having to do with the government.  You also must remember that my blog is based on my personal experiences for the area that I live in.  We went to Guapiles to renew our license as it is the closest place for us.

First we went and got our physicals at a local doctor in the town we live in.  Next, we paid the fee of 5,000 colones each at Banco Nacional.  Our physicals were 20,000 colones each.  We made sure to keep our receipts from the bank, as you will need those.  We also got copies of our physicals, called Dictamen here, they did want to see that as we entered to get in line.  We got up early today so we could get a good place in line, when we got there I would guess that there were about 7-10 people ahead of us.  But the lady looked at my husbands birth date on his license and realized that he is 66 years old so he gets to go to the front of the line.  Now, also, my husband is 3/4 deaf and is lucky to hear me half of the time.  (But I still love him.)  I explain this to the woman at the gate that I needed to translate for him.  So I got to go with him!  We went first and we were both in and out in less than 15 minutes.  The lady asked for all of our paperwork, our current drivers license and our cedula’s.  She made sure our address was still the same, phone number, and e-mail address, took our picture, we signed, and had our finger print done.  That was it.  Super easy!

From there we did our normal monthly shopping in Guapiles.  There are some things cheaper there than they are in the town we live in, and we have to go there every month to make the house payment.  Stocked up on cat food and got to see the vets cat, I remember when she got the cat and it was a tiny kitten, now she is full grown and beautiful.  Stopped by one of the bigger supermarkets to stock up on coffee and salsa and a few other small items.  From there we did our monthly trip to Paqueño Mundo, it’s basically like a Big Lots in the States.  I can find my canvas there for really cheap.  We had to wait a few minutes for them to open and when they did they had all of their front of the house staff there greeting everyone as they came in, I found that to be very nice.  From there we headed back to our area and made the car payment.  A simple day, but we got a lot done.  Everything is paid for the month now.

It got super hot today and now we have some thunder off in the distance.  It’s been a busy week for me, I’ve been doing a lot.  I have been participating in GISHWHES.  If you don’t know what that is, I encourage you to look it up.  It’s rather interesting.  I can’t post anything I’ve done yet, I may do that next week after the contest ends.  But I think my entire town now thinks I’m insane.  I’ve made a lot of people smile and laugh though.  GISHWHES is partnered with Random Acts which is a wonderful charity organization.  Next week I go for my doctors appointment.  I will update you all on that when I can.  Until mañana, Pura Vida!

Leave a Reply

