Off to the Vet

Yesterday afternoon I noticed a tumor on the side of my dog.  This thing just popped up!  We are almost constantly petting him and giving him belly rubs; he’s pretty spoiled really.  So, I immediately called one of my vets and arranged to bring him in the following morning.

He loves going for car rides, all we had to do today was open the door and say, “Let’s go!” and he jumped right in.  He’s really a giant baby.  People are very intimidated by him because of his size, 77 pounds/35 kilos.  He’s an American Staffordshire Terrier, so he looks a lot like a pit bull; they are very close cousins.  All this dog wants is to be loved on.  We adopted him almost two years ago and he was extremely emaciated and very sick and he had been beaten.  The person who had him wanted him to fight, but he just wanted to love.  So we got him and he gets lots of love here.  Everyone who gets to know him falls in love with him.

Well, we get to the vet and she examines his tumor.  She is a little worried at first as it is rather large and pretty solid, but it was still movable which was a good thing.  She gives him some anesthesia and he slowly started getting sleepy.  He didn’t even flinch when he got his shots, he was a perfect boy.  I told my vet that I have never had a problem with anyone giving him his vaccinations and that he is special, she told me that he is very special.  He put his head on my shoulder and started drifting off until he could no longer sit up and slowly laid down on the table.  When he was pretty out of it she gave him a local to numb the area so she could get to work.  She didn’t want to put him under completely so he could have a quicker recovery time.

Five minutes later we are transferring him to the other room where she has everything set up to get the tumor out.  She picks him up to carry him and he whimpers the entire way!  I have never heard him whimper before and I was almost in tears!  I just know that he was confused and didn’t know what was going on and scared.  She laid him on the table and I spoke softly to him while petting his big block head.  He drifted off even more, his eyes were closed and he was sleeping.

She got to work right away.  I stayed with him the entire time and my husband was in and out to check on him.  He was like a nervous dad! She got the tumor out and cut it open and looked through it and told me that it didn’t look like it would be cancerous.  She suggested that we wait to do a biopsy.  If he develops anymore we will have those removed and then biopsy it.  I really trust my vet, she greeted Bruno with a big smile today and lots of pets and he even kissed her on the nose!  Just as she got him all stitched up he was starting to wake up.  Great timing!  She sent her husband out to buy an ace bandage to put around him as she didn’t have anything long enough to fit around him.  We gave him several minutes to look around and know that he was OK and to make sure he wasn’t going to freak out.  The vet carried him out to the car for us and laid him gently in the back seat where Bruno slept the whole way home.  I picked him up a new brush and a new collar today also.  Total cost of everything, including antibiotic injections…under $70!

My vet is an amazing woman and speaks great English.  We giggle at each other when she can’t remember a work in English and I can’t remember one in Spanish.  We work it out.  I can really tell that she loves the animals and wants what’s best for them.

bruno6bruno2bruno3bruno4

bruno7

Leave a Reply

